US PUBLIC LANDS APP | Product Review | Camping on Public Land

US PUBLIC LANDS APP | Product Review | Camping on Public Land

US PUBLIC LANDS APP

This is an Apple & Android app that cost $2.99 and overlays different types of public land on a standard USA Map.

FROM THE APP DESCRIPTION – “Please note, the National Atlas maps only report to the nearest 640 acres (or about a square mile). This is obviously not detailed enough to be precise around borders, or for determining where private inholdings within public lands are located. US Public Lands should only be used as an overview, and you should always confirm more precise details by consulting more detailed maps, local field offices or the websites links with in the app.”

Thanks for tuning in to Road Gear Reviews! Gear Up For Your Adventures.

Follow Road Gear Reviews:
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/roadgearreviews/
Instagram https://www.instagram.com/road.gear.reviews/
Pinterest https://www.pinterest.com/roadgearreviews/
Twitter https://twitter.com/roadgearreviews
RVillage https://www.rvillage.com/group/2465

We are a group of full time RV travelers with over 15 combined years of experience. We all have different travel styles and setups, from a vintage travel trailer, fifth wheels, and a Class A motorcoach with a tow vehicle. Our wide range of experiences and backgrounds allows us to bring you a diverse range of travel product reviews and trials from our lives on the road.

Let us know what products you’d like to learn more about in the comments below!

Subscribe for weekly uploads about travel gear for RVing, camping, road trips, and more!

Who We Are:
Drivin’ and Vibin’ – Kyle & Olivia
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UClkhrrakVty75SWLJIbcxDA
The Freedom Theory – Josh & Kali
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfgnoXLACG-UeD1mlTJXw8g
Mortons On The Move – Tom & Cait
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCirNI5XV3xZZApeIe0a5-6Q
RV Love – Marc & Julie
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsjA83xRW2iaqPox8IbDLKQ
Exploring the Local Life – Jessica & Robert
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtd838i4rUFvc7d5QkUikjg

12 Comments

  1. Abby Nation on January 31, 2020 at 9:56 am

    does it only show the west or does it also show the east

  2. jc kay on January 31, 2020 at 10:01 am

    Holy unnecessary closeups, Batman!

    Just show us the app & functions, not a continuous cut to your face.

  3. Bill Sprague on January 31, 2020 at 10:01 am

    I subscribe to GAIAGPS.com and use their overlays to tell me whose land I’m on.

  4. Guy Vincent on January 31, 2020 at 10:02 am

    Basically this is a collection of free government land websites that they put into a $3 app..

  5. Teddy GingerBear on January 31, 2020 at 10:13 am

    Kyle, is this app functional offline? I mean compared to AllStays which can be used offline or full function online.
    Thanks!

  6. Technomadia on January 31, 2020 at 10:22 am

    Thanks so much for this review of US Public Lands, Kyle! We super appreciate it. However, it should definitely be noted that this app is NOT intended to be accurate enough to determine if you’re legally on land you can camp on.

    For one, from our app’s description:

    "Please note, the National Atlas maps only report to the nearest 640 acres (or about a square mile). This is obviously not detailed enough to be precise around borders, or for determining where private inholdings within public lands are located. US Public Lands should only be used as an overview, and you should always confirm more precise details by consulting more detailed maps, local field offices or the websites links with in the app."

    And next – the app simply indicates who might own the land. There could very well be local laws that allow or disallow camping (or whatever activity you’re considering – this isn’t specifically just for camping).

    Basically, please use the app just as an overview in your overall scouting out and planning process. You definitely need to also do your research and check with local field offices and/or the websites of the organization who owns the land.

  7. Hermes on January 31, 2020 at 10:24 am

    I thought about this app, except have read numerous reviews indicating this app ranges from inaccurate to highly inaccurate. A couple reviewers put the app to test on land they new to be private, including one reviewers own property and the app indicated it was public land. It sounds like while it may work in some cases , you can’t rely on it if you want to insure you are not on private property. For $2.99 I would hope for more accuracy.

  8. David LaHaise Jr on January 31, 2020 at 10:24 am

    Do you have any free apps? That u don’t have to 💰 for?

  9. Eric Van Eck on January 31, 2020 at 10:33 am

    The picture you showed was missing a bunch of federal land that I know about, so I have to question how accurate it is with missing data. If I pay for something I would expect it to show everything.

  10. Vinny Boombah on January 31, 2020 at 10:36 am

    Informative video….i would strongly consider buying this app…thanks!!

  11. Rick Eberhardt on January 31, 2020 at 10:37 am

    Is this nationwide or just western states?

  12. viral maroc on January 31, 2020 at 10:38 am

    good

Leave a Comment