Does it Leak? – Outback Swags Pioneer Swag Tent – Preview

Does it Leak? – Outback Swags Pioneer Swag Tent – Preview

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is Previewing the Outback Swags Pioneer Swag Tent!

Link : https://outbackswags.com/products/pioneer-swag

Price : $ 299.00 $ 349.00

Pioneer swag has the following specs & features:

· Heavy duty and Waterproof 12oz Rip-stop canvas
· 7′ x 3′ floor size, with 31″ head clearance
· PVC vinyl floor with bathtub construction
· 5/16″ Aluminum 3 pole system
· 2 inch egg-crate style foam mattress with washable cover
· Durable fly mesh layer and head flap for ventilation
· Head flap opening for alternative access
· PVC vinyl shoe mat
· 2x guy ropes and 8x pegs
· Four compartment storage pocket
· 11lbs (20lbs including mattress)
· Bonus canvas carry bag

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

….

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

50 Comments

  1. Kenneth Williams on December 27, 2019 at 3:16 am

    If you don’t pack the mat how small can you pack the tent?

  2. Ausmosis on December 27, 2019 at 3:16 am

    If after 20 years I’ve now been able to convince my wife to go camping a LOT more because of a swag, I think that says a lot. Yes we have tried various tents in the past and the wife still didn’t enjoy going camping that much but when I bought her a swag boy did things change!. The ease of setting up/take down and the personal attachment you get from owning a swag is something you will only understand once you have tried and own one. You actually get more time to relax and enjoy your quick weekend camping getaway! 🙂

  3. Derek R Watson on December 27, 2019 at 3:16 am

    If I had a dollar for every time a strange donkey wandered into my campsite…

  4. John Clarke on December 27, 2019 at 3:17 am

    man there insanly heavey

  5. Jon Lloyd on December 27, 2019 at 3:19 am

    Heighth?

  6. Deep South New Zealand on December 27, 2019 at 3:19 am

    its to keep poisonous snakes and spiders out

  7. Joseph Jobes on December 27, 2019 at 3:21 am

    Tbh it wouldn’t be that big without the mattresses.

  8. 1Selous on December 27, 2019 at 3:23 am

    sippose it has its place just as most camping gear.

  9. Kaylan Lincon-Crough on December 27, 2019 at 3:25 am

    oh yea australia

  10. wolfman6000 on December 27, 2019 at 3:28 am

    Cool honest review, I would like to see it in the snow as well.

  11. John Laing on December 27, 2019 at 3:28 am

    Take the mattress out. Use a lighter mattress. Save weight!!

  12. 1Selous on December 27, 2019 at 3:30 am

    There is a small swag available, i seen some in Oz but only 1 man, must admit felt a bit claustrophobic, a bit like a Bivi-Bag quite tight inside, i preferd just a tent tbh.

  13. Joe Mulgrew on December 27, 2019 at 3:30 am

    I used one of these whilst touring Oz and it was great. Not for backpacking and i cannot think of a time when i would use it in cold weather.Great for use in Oz but not much else.

  14. Lex Hawthorn on December 27, 2019 at 3:32 am

    Luke i’m glad you called it a ‘Tent’… The swaggies of Australia, were a part of the great depression days, men had a canvas sack. it opened at the top and 1/3rd down one side. They had a blanket or the likes in it. They carried over their shoulder like a rifle, as they were walking hundreds of miles to try and find work, or even food. A swag is a canvas sack. As seen by this bloke I am linking to you. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x8fZ5umvz_U You can see a real swag at 10 22. He also has a mattress or pad in it, pure luxury.. which was not a thing folks could afford, nor carry about, in the great depression of the 1920s. I hope this helps your knowledge base, if not? Never mind, she’ll be right mate.

  15. niall441 on December 27, 2019 at 3:32 am

    Total bullshit! the size for one person? might as well get a outwell Corvette xl.

  16. Kathy Oneill on December 27, 2019 at 3:32 am

    😙🇦🇺🙃

  17. Billy Blaze on December 27, 2019 at 3:34 am

    I would like to see you review a Kamp cot tent and cot system some time. 🙂

  18. lakepipes52 on December 27, 2019 at 3:37 am

    make sure you season the canvas before you take it out in the wet, this is important to ensure it does not leak through the seams

  19. dubprocesslbc on December 27, 2019 at 3:38 am

    Australia doesn’t know the meaning of making lighter and smaller gear. I have an OzTent RV5 love the tent but most of the time it just isnt practical.

  20. Derek R Watson on December 27, 2019 at 3:39 am

    Or every time I’ve had to say "hey whose fucking donkey is this?"

  21. Locus Cades on December 27, 2019 at 3:40 am

    20 lbs isnt that heavy, and that isnt big enough to stop me carrying it on my back.

  22. killer survival on December 27, 2019 at 3:40 am

    that makes me think of military stuff

  23. levi brown on December 27, 2019 at 3:41 am

    Could you take it backpacking if you take the mattress out? Seems like it would make a good one man 4 season hiking tent/bivvy if you take out the mattress…

  24. Peter McPherson on December 27, 2019 at 3:41 am

    i’d ditch the mattress and go with a Neo-Air.

  25. mutefeed on December 27, 2019 at 3:42 am

    There are way better swags in Australia. The leaking issue will come from the seams, you’re supposed to wet it in a few times for the material to expand and contract which helps seal the seams naturally without chemicals or additional material.

  26. Michael on December 27, 2019 at 3:43 am

    the point of this tent is to have the utmost comfort while camping for one person thats the point of this tent

  27. Rigga 1963 on December 27, 2019 at 3:44 am

    hey outdoor gear man my name is tony i live here in Australia these swags are very popular i own a biker swag which is about aquarter of the size of that one you have featured there i am six foot one and i fit in mine okay the thing you have to remember with these swags is you have to water proof them and to do that all you do is hose it down with water both inside and out and what happens is the fabric swells up making the swag waterproof i have been in mine in a couple of bad storms and i was warm and dry as toast as we say here in oz and after you have waterproofed it it will last you for years i know guys that have had theirs for over fifteen years and are in use almost every weekend and they will not use anything else so snow will not be a problem although the weight of the snow might break the poles i dont know do not live near snow fields but for everything else no problem hope this was of some help

  28. Steven Walter on December 27, 2019 at 3:45 am

    looks like its the type of tent you could build a bike trailer for and use it as a bugout tent.

  29. Dave's Skillet on December 27, 2019 at 3:45 am

    Thanks for sharing Luke gonna keep my Coleman insta tent🙃

  30. Macky4941 on December 27, 2019 at 3:46 am

    Another great review! Quick question though, what brand shirt is this in the video and others that you have done?

  31. Greg Letter on December 27, 2019 at 3:47 am

    If you’re starting to get cold check out refrigiwear coveralls. And on google look up ‘ergodyne – official site’ because they are having a sale on their proflex 8190D thermal gauntlet gloves w/ outdry, right now. To check out these gloves here on youtube look up – Ergodyne ProFlex Thermal Waterproof Glove Test – GME Supply

  32. Maria Otero on December 27, 2019 at 3:49 am

    Very interesting and awesome!

  33. Domabventure on December 27, 2019 at 3:50 am

    I love to see tents like this and it looks well made, just don’t know what sort of camp I would use it on. Dominic

  34. TheYTViolation on December 27, 2019 at 3:50 am

    I lost interest after it taking so long to set up considering its size. Without doubt it is rugged and well made. The turn -offs are the time to set up, weight, and cost (300 bucks or more? Come on man) It has it’s place but I’d skip it. I have been doing the outdoors lifestyle for decades and this is just not an efficient or practical option for me and I would guess most people.
    Cool review though and thanks for posting.

  35. james everidge on December 27, 2019 at 3:51 am

    It sounds heavy duty when you zip it.

  36. S.J. on December 27, 2019 at 3:52 am

    Kinda Cool but shoot, I dunno what I’d use it for. Not really gonna gonna backpack with it, and at this point I mine as well buy a topper for my truck. Nice review either way

  37. Hoodiefoodie on December 27, 2019 at 3:52 am

    its sooo huge yet its ment for one person -.-

  38. ObserverOfFire on December 27, 2019 at 3:53 am

    looks like a bodybag to me 🙁

  39. Daniel Baker on December 27, 2019 at 3:54 am

    hey bud, do you know if the tent can be bought without the matress? and do you know how much it weighs without the matress

  40. Jack Lange on December 27, 2019 at 3:55 am

    Thats what most people have in Australia. Few use tents but most use swags. I have 2, a single and a double

  41. Hiker Marapese on December 27, 2019 at 3:58 am

    I have a six man tent, a full sized air mattress and pump. Half the pack size, weight and price. Liked your review. These droughts are something else! Times are changing.

  42. Jeff Everett on December 27, 2019 at 4:00 am

    Very cool

  43. rob b on December 27, 2019 at 4:02 am

    useless piece of crap

  44. Gordy Brody on December 27, 2019 at 4:02 am

    That is not a swag – they could be carried with a string over the shoulder. This is a MASSIVE canvas bivvy tent. Neither fish nor foul. If you’re reliant on using a vehicle to transport it, why not get something more roomy? Pure gimmick imo

  45. Danny Baker on December 27, 2019 at 4:02 am

    Looks like a quality product.

  46. AngeliqueKaga on December 27, 2019 at 4:05 am

    NO FUCKING WALL!

  47. Michael Schmidt on December 27, 2019 at 4:06 am

    Git rid of the pad and use a camping pad, much smaller package and use a silver lining to keep you warmer

  48. Brian Dawson on December 27, 2019 at 4:06 am

    man that’s a really nice tent. way outside my price range though.

  49. Jackal on December 27, 2019 at 4:07 am

    G’day from down under. Thank you for the accurate history. However.. that’s a baby. Wish I could show you mine… google “Adventure Kings Big Daddy” you will blow out at the size.

  50. Tori Pease on December 27, 2019 at 4:08 am

    I mean you could backpack with it

Leave a Comment